100 Days Later (almost)

life moves pretty fast에 대한 이미지 검색결과

Well, here I am, a quarter of the way through my twelve month teaching contract – seriously, where has the time gone? I had a feeling the time would fly by, but I had no idea it would fly by so quickly.

Before leaving for Korea, I had a lengthy list of intentions for my time here – I was going to learn Korean, save sooo much money, start working out again, get back into running, journal more, blog every week…. you get the idea. Well, I can now say a total of like eight words in Korean, so can’t say I’ve accomplished that. I have purchased flights to Vietnam, Jeju island, Japan, and China, and also purchased tickets for the Olympics, so I clearly haven’t saved any money. I was doing a great job working out for about a month, and then was plagued by a stomach flu, so that came to an end. And of course, for those of you who read my blog, it is pretty evident that I have not been posting on a weekly basis. What a surprise –  I am on the other side of the world, and I am still setting grand ambitions for myself and only completing a fraction of them. Self-five.

I really did want to use blogging as a tool to reflect and document my experience abroad, so I have something to look back on in the years to come. Luckily, I found a blogging challenge that I am hoping will motivate me to blog more frequently (hopefully weekly). Each week, I will receive blogging prompts to my email which will hopefully get the creative juices flowing, so without further ado….

Why am I even here?

This week’s challenge suggested I revisit my “why”, and gave me a series of questions to prompt this. Being that I have been here three months, it seemed like I perfect time, so here is my rambling response to those questions…

Last July, a community colleague randomly told me in passing that he had spent a few years working in Korea – that he made a lot of money, and was able to fund some serious travel. Last September (nine months ago… *mind-blown*), I was driving home from a work event with my co-worker and friend, Giordan. I was complaining about the same old sh*t, and ranting about wanting to leave and live far away. Which now seems alarming, because my life in Kitchener was a solid 10/10 – hindsight right? These two events were pivotal in my decision to leave. After that day in September, it snowballed. Before I knew it, I had interviews for various jobs, I was preparing visa documents, giving notice at my apartment and job – and just like that, I was moving to Korea.

In the months leading up to my move, I made solid plans to pay off all of my debt, made endless lists of all of the places I wanted to see in Korea, and spent hours determining which mountains I wanted to climb. When I think of how much I’ve seen, and how much I’ve experienced in the past three months, I want to say I have achieved some of my hopes and goals for my time abroad. But when I think of my time here as loading screen on a computer, “25%”, I realize that before I know it, I will be halfway, and then it will be over. This really makes me want to get my priorities in line for the next nine months – I want to spend my time in a way that is meaningful and intentional (and that doesn’t involved binge watching Gossip Girl on Netflix again).

loading-25

Ah, so this brings me to my next thought, what exactly are my priorities? Saving money, traveling, experiencing as much of Korea as possible, and building relationships with my students, are my key priorities for the remainder of my year. Unfortunately, traveling and experiencing Korea, conflicts with my desire to save money – finding a balance has been difficult, and I’m sure will continue to be.

A big realization that I have come to during my three months here, is most things in life are significantly less significant than we make them out to be. If I had a nickle for every time I  had a “Korea Meltdown” in the months leading up to my move, I’d be rich. The truth is, my transition here has been easy – I had far more meltdowns in the months leading up to my move, then I have since I have been here. I am 11,000 kms from home, and I still feel connected to my friends and my family – technology is a wonderful thing.

At the end of the day, my move here seemed like an earth shattering life decision – and it wasn’t. I’m still the same person. I think the same thoughts. I do the same sh*t. I could have made a million excuses to not take this leap, but I am so glad I didn’t. It took me many years to gain the courage to move so far from home, and pursue this type of experience. I look forward to the next nine months of teaching, and extended exploring after that.

20170506_185707
Different country, same wino.
2 thoughts on “100 Days Later (almost)

Leave a Reply

