It’s True: “You don’t know what you’ve got til it’s gone”

0

This blog post brought to you by: A bottle of a wine…

That cliche “Parking Lot” song, that says, “You don’t know what you’ve got ’til it’s gone” has proven rather accurate since my arrival in Korea. For those of you who don’t know it – https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=94bdMSCdw20.

From what I have read on the internet, many blogs about moving abroad and long-term travel include endless positive outcomes to quitting your “shitty” 9-5 job, and going against social norms. I am hear to tell you that it is not always rainbows and puppies.

My move to Korea has been seamless,  it has allowed me to explore a new culture, a country, a new language, meet new people, blah blah, and blah. While all of this has been beyond wonderful, after a bottle of wine, I can now see how wonderful my life in Canada was and how wonderful all of the people I left there are; and I terribly miss them.

000

My move to Korea meant leaving my family for the first time ever, leaving long-term friends, leaving new friends, leaving my dog, and leaving my boyfriend. Many praised me for being “brave” and “courageous”, but the truth is, I was shitting my pants (sorry for my trucker mouth, Mom #BlameNancy) in the months leading up to my move. While I am so happy I left Canada to come to Korea for a year, it did not come without it’s sacrifices. While I am enjoying every moment I have spent in Korea, it is easy for me to recognize that I have left my heart in Canada with the people that have left a lasting impact on me over the past several years (and decades).

My undeniable itch to explore the world guarantees that this will not be the last time that I spend extended time abroad, but just so those at home know, I think about each of you everyday, and I look forward to my life at home with each of you when I return. Much love.

Leave a Reply

